Skip to main content

Cork East Fine Gael TD and Minister of State at the Department of Justice, David Stanton, has welcomed the allocation of €37,000 in grants for Tidy Towns committees in Cork East.

The funding is part of a €1.4 million national grant scheme launched by the Minister for Rural and Community Development, Michael Ring, to mark the 60th anniversary of the Tidy Towns Competition.

Under the scheme committees were invited to apply for a grant of between €1,000 and €4,000, depending on population, to support local Tidy Towns works. A total of €37,000 has been allocated to 23 committees in Cork East constituency:

Ballycotton – €1000
Carrigtwohill – €2000
Castlelyons – Bridesbridge – €1000
Castletownroche – €1000
Cloyne – €2000
Cobh – €3000
Conna – €1000
Coolagown – €1000
Fermoy – €3000
Glanworth – €2000
Glounthaune – €1000
Inch – €1000
Kildorrery – €1000
Killeagh – €1000
Kilworth – €1000
Knockraha – €1000
Ladysbridge – €1000
Mallow – €3000
Midleton – €3000
Mitchelstown – €2000
Mogeely – €1000
Newtwopothouse – €1000
Youghal – €3000

Speaking upon confirmation of the allocation, Minister Stanton said: “I have no doubt that towns and villages across East Cork will benefit hugely from this investment. Volunteer led community initiatives, such as Tidy Towns, bring out the best in our localities.

“This funding is recognition from the Government of the huge contribution made by citizens to improve their own communities. I would encourage anyone who feels strongly about community and environmental values to get involved with the initiative which serves to greatly benefit the lives of local people while also making our local areas more attractive to visitors”.