Skip to main content

For Written Answer on : 08/02/2022
Question Number(s): 551 Question Reference(s): 5880/22
Department: Justice
Asked by: David Stanton T.D.


To ask the Minister for Justice the number of Scott service medals awarded to members of An Garda Síochána in each of the years 2016 to 2021; the criteria for recommendation for same; and if she will make a statement on the matter.


The Scott Medal is the highest award that can be bestowed by the Commissioner of An Garda Síochána and is awarded for ‘most exceptional bravery and heroism involving the risk of life in the execution of duty’. 

Scott Medal nominees are selected from recommendations that are provided by the Garda Divisions on an annual basis to the adjudication board, which is comprised of two Deputy Commissioners and an Assistant Commissioner. The Board decides on the class of Medal (Gold, Silver or Bronze) to be awarded due to the level of ‘bravery and valour’ exhibited by the member.

Nominations in respect of serving Garda members are submitted to the adjudication board by the relevant Divisional Officer (Chief Superintendent). In the cases of posthumous awards or awards to retired members, family members or colleagues may put forward a request for nomination. The nomination then goes to the Divisional Officer for their consideration.

I have been advised by the Garda authorities that Scott Medal award ceremonies were held in 2016, 2017 and 2021. No ceremonies were held in the years 2018-2020.

The below table shows a breakdown of Medals awarded by year and by class (Gold, Silver, Bronze).