Skip to main content

For Oral Answer on : 30/11/2023
Question Number(s): 164 Question Reference(s): 50204/23
Department: Foreign Affairs
Asked by: David Stanton T.D.


To ask the Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs to outline the countries for which his Department currently has a “Do not travel” security status in place; and if he will make a statement on the matter.


My Department provides information and advice to prepare citizens before travelling abroad, and offers an objective assessment of the risks they could face. The Department publishes clear, accessible and up-to-date Travel Advice for around 200 destinations, so that citizens can make informed choices about international travel on the basis of accurate and impartial information. Travel Advice is one of the Department’s most consulted services.

Security Status levels are an important component of the Travel Advice service. They allow us to explain to citizens how safe or unsafe we believe a country may be to visit, and help them to make informed decisions about overseas travel. They are also relevant for Irish citizens currently resident abroad or already travelling abroad.

There are four levels of Security Status as follows: Normal Precautions; High Degree of Caution; Avoid Non-Essential Travel; and, Do Not Travel. Out of more than two hundred destinations for which we provide Travel Advice worldwide, twenty-three are currently assigned a ‘Do Not Travel’ Security Status. They are as follows:

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Belarus
  3. Burkina Faso
  4. Burundi
  5. Central African Republic
  6. Democratic Republic of the Congo
  7. Gabon
  8. Haiti
  9. Iran
  10. Iraq
  11. Israel and the occupied Palestinian territory
  12. Lebanon
  13. Libya
  14. Mali
  15. Myanmar/Burma
  16. Niger
  17. Russian Federation
  18. Sudan
  19. Somalia
  20. South Sudan
  21. Syria
  22. Ukraine
  23. Yemen